The Ascension: Jay Z to feature Olamide and Femi Kuti in new album

American rapper and music executive, Shawn Corey Carter, known professionally as Jay-Z, is set to feature Nigerian artistes; Olamide and Femi Kutu on his upcoming album, ‘The Ascension’.

The 16 songs project features guest appearances from the likes of Olamide, Sarkodie, Femi Kuti, Nasty C, Beyoncé, Rick Ross, H.E.R and the duo of Lighthouse family.

Speaking on the 16-track album, Jay-Z said,

“I’ve always wanted to get in touch with my roots and connect to the motherland. You know, Africa is blessed with so much talent and I felt like it was time to tap into that resource. The Ascension is not just talking or focusing on Africa but it’s also about me giving back to the people, familiarizing with the culture and connecting more with the motherland.”

The rap mogul follows in the footsteps of his wife Beyonce whose last album “Lion King: The Gift” album, featured African stars like of Burna boy, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Shatta Wale, and Tekno.

Take a look at the track lists below:

  1. Total Recall
  2. Black Chronic Ft. Sakordie
  3. Fleets Or Flee
  4. Kings Feast Ft. Olamide
  5. Motherland Ft. Beyonce
  6. Brothers And Lovers Ft. Nasty C
  7. Fundamental
  8. Glow Ft. Vanessa
  9. Generational Wealth Ft. Rick Ross
  10. Fight Forward
  11. Inks
  12. Ivy League
  13. Victory Ft. Femi Kuti
  14. Life Matters
  15. Smokes Go Up Ft. Lighthouse Family
  16. So Long Ft. H.E.R

Meanwhile, Nigerian Afro-pop singer and songwriter, Adedamola Adefolahan, alias Fireboy has named veteran rapper, Olamide as his inspiration.

The ‘Champion’ crooner took to his Twitter page to state that the popular indigenous rapper’s alter ego is his inspiration forever.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.