Actress Joke Silva, Mercy Johnson, others named in APC women presidential campaign council

Nollywood actresses Joke Silva and Mercy Johnson are part of the names of prominent women in the APC women’s presidential campaign council.

Aisha Buhari
President M. Buhari and wife Aisha

Aisha Buhari, the first lady of Nigeria, Senator Oluremi Tinubu, and Nana Shettima were also named as the party’s female leaders for the upcoming presidential election by the All Progressives Congress (APC).

On Independence Day, Rinsola Abiola, the campaign’s spokesperson and the late Moshood Abiola’s daughter, released the list.

The names of 944 well-known women and wives of prominent APC politicians are included on the campaign list.

Mrs. Buhari was named grand patron of the Tinubu-Shettima Women Presidential Campaign Team, Tinubu, a three-term senator, was elected chairman, Nana was named co-chairman, and Lauretta Onochie, President Muhammadu Buhari’s personal social media assistant, joined the campaign team as deputy national coordinator.

In the category of zonal leaders, the spouse of the governor of Kebbi State, Zainab Baugudu, will oversee the north-west; the governor of Lagos State, Ibijoke Sanwo-Olu, will oversee the south-west; and the governor of Borno State, Falmata Zulum, will oversee the north-east.

Olufolake Abdulrazaq, the wife of the governor of Kwara State, will oversee coordination in the north central region.

Chioma Ikeaka-Uzodinma, the governor of Imo State’s wife, will organise the south east campaign; Linda Ayade, a colleague in Cross River, will be in charge of the south south campaign.

The statement partly read, “The Tinubu/Shettima 2023 Women Presidential Campaign Team is pleased to announce the release of the composition of its various committees for the 2023 presidential campaign.

“While we congratulate the appointees, they are advised to collect their letters of appointment at the Tinubu/Shettima Women Presidential Campaign Office at No 2 Kainji Crescent, off Lake Chad Crescent, Maitama, Abuja on 3rd October 2022 by 10am.”

The statement went on to say that high-profile party women leaders would oversee campaign activities in states not under APC control while the wives of APC governors would serve as coordinators in their respective states.

No fewer than 33 Nollywood and Kannywood actors were listed for entertainment in the 70-page campaign document.

They included seasoned actors like Princess Kalihat Bello, Remi Oshodi, Mercy Johnson, Rose Odika, Sola Kosoko, Lanre Hassan (Iya Awero), Hajiya Nas, Lizzy Jay (Omo Ibadan), and Joke Silva, who chairs the category.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.