How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account

Hey, we could all need a break from time to time.
It’s not uncommon for your extended family to have political disagreements.
Sometimes it’s that strange high school kid trying to attract you into a pyramid scheme.
Maybe you’re just irritated by Facebook’s handling of the newest issue.The point is that you need a break from Facebook for one reason or another.
However, you aren’t ready to remove your account completely.
There is no need to be concerned.
You can deactivate your Facebook account for a limited time without permanently deleting it.Here’s how to do it.

1. Go to your “Settings & Privacy”

Find your "Settings & Privacy" using the menu icon in the bottom right corner

Find your “Settings & Privacy” using the menu icon in the bottom right corner

 

2. Select “Settings”

3. Under “Account” tap “Personal and Account Information”

Tap "Personal and Account Information" under your "Account" settings

Tap “Personal and Account Information” under your “Account” settings

 

4. Tap “Account Ownership and Control” at the bottom

5. Tap “Deactivation and deletion”

6. Read the onscreen info, make sure “Deactivate account” is selected, and tap “Continue to account deactivation”

Read the info, and make sure you have "Deactivate account" selected

Read the info, and make sure you have “Deactivate account” selected

 

 

7. Follow the instructions to confirm your choice, and your Facebook account will be deactivated

According to Facebook, when you deactivate your account:

No one else can see your profile.

Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible.

Your friends may still see your name in their friends list. This is only visible to your friends, and only from their friends list.

Group admins may still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.

You will not be able to use your Facebook account to access Oculus products or your Oculus information.

Pages that only you control will also be deactivated. If your Page is deactivated, people can’t see your Page or find your Page if they search for it. If you don’t want your Page to be deactivated, you can give someone else full control of your Page. You’ll then be able to deactivate your account without deactivating the Page.

Simply connecting back into Facebook will revive your account.
To complete your account reactivation, you’ll need access to the email or phone number you used to log in.