How to disable App Sharing across devices in Windows 11

With Windows 10 version 1607 (Anniversary Update), Microsoft introduced a feature that allows apps on the computer to communicate with other devices and open the same apps on them. The feature allows you to continue working even after switching devices, saving you valuable time.

The same feature is now available on the more recent Windows 11 operating system. The Shared Experiences feature is enabled by default on Windows 11 and Windows 10 devices for devices under the same Microsoft device to sync.

If you are not using this feature and want to disable it on your computer, follow this step-by-step guide to turn off the App Sharing across devices feature in Settings on your Windows 11 computer.

How to disable App Sharing across devices in Windows 11

Step 1: Launch the Settings app on your Windows 11 PC. You can do this by selecting the app from the Start menu or by searching for it. Alternatively, you may access the Settings app by using the Windows + I buttons on your keyboard.

Step 2: When the Settings app opens, choose “Apps” from the left-hand pane.

Disable-App-Sharing-Win-11-1

Step 3: After that, on the right side of the window, select the “Advanced app settings” option.

Step 4: You will see three options under the “Share across devices” section. Select “Off” to disable this feature.

Disable-App-Sharing-Win-11-2

Following the actions outlined above, the App Sharing across devices function on your computer running the Windows 11 operating system will be deactivated or turned off.

By default, the “My devices only” option is chosen, allowing app experience to be shared across all devices associated with the signed-in Microsoft account. There’s also the option to select “Everyone nearby,” which allows you to share apps with all nearby devices. The final choice, “Off,” disables the feature on your computer.