Annual Fashion LA Awards: And the Winner Is…

On Sunday, April 8th-The Daily Front Row were hosts to the 4th annual Fashion Los Angeles Awards at the iconic Beverly Hills Hotel. The awards honoured a wide range of luminaries and creators in the fashion industry including Jeremy Scott, who was honoured as “Creative of the Year,” Stuart Vevers of Coach, who received the award for “Designer of the Year,” and “Model of the Year” honouree Emily Ratajkowski.
Celebrity attendees included Paris Hilton, Frances Bean Cobain, Nicole Richie, and Chrissy Teigen and John Legend. It was a walk down the red carpet, prior to proceeding inside the venue for a serving of cocktails and wine which were provided by Kim Crawford.


The awards ceremony kicked off with Derek Blasberg on hosting duty. See below for the award categories, presenters and the winners on the night!


1. Design Debut of the Year: Jamie Mizrahi for Juicy Couture, presented by Nicole Richie
“Last year, I came to this awards show when Karla Welch and Samantha McMillan won awards for the Stylists of the Year,” Jamie Mizrahi said when collecting her award. “I remember thinking to myself, how amazing would that be, to receive that honour. But as you can see, there’s a long line of accomplished stylists who deserve to be recognized, which is why I found another way of getting here.”

2. Hair Artist of the Year: Jen Atkin, presented by Kris Jenner
“This is such a pinch-me moment,” Jen Atkin said in her speech. “The fact that I’m getting a Daily Front Row award is insane. When my agent told me, I was getting an award, I was hoping it was Model of the Year!”

3. Photographer of the Year: Alexi Lubomirski, presented by Kyle Hagler.

4. Women’s Stylist of the Year: Kate Young, presented by Derek Blasberg
“I really love what I do. I’m really thrilled that I get to work with sparkly dresses and the most prettiest women in the world every day. I’m so grateful,” Kate Young said from the dais.

5. Emerging Talent of the Year: Cami Morrone, presented by Sebastian Faena
“Okay so this is my first award ever and I’ve never spoken publicly so yeah,” Cami Morrone said, prefacing her acceptance speech. “By the way I didn’t know your heart could travel all the way up to your throat so that’s what’s happening now.”

6. Fashion Rebel of the Year: Philipp Plein, presented by Paris Hilton
“Ciao!” Philip Plein said via video — the designer was stuck overseas. “I’m very, very thankful.”

7. Designer of the Year: Stuart Vevers of Coach, presented by Rowan Blanchard
“For me, diversity is modernity in terms of race, gender, and identity. At Coach, I want to be completely inclusive to everyone because that’s what I think America does at its best,” Stuart Vevers said accepting his award.

8. Model of the Year: Emily Ratajkowski, presented by Trey Laird
“Beauty as defined by the fashion industry is no longer just one ideal,” Ratajkowski said from the stage. ”It’s a multitude of shapes and colours and sizes. And, most amazingly, beauty is now about what makes you different and about what you stand for.”

9. Creative of the Year: Jeremy Scott, presented by Paris Jackson
“As somebody a little outside the box, sometimes I feel, well, a little outside the box. But you guys always make me feel at home and loved and cherished,” Jeremy Scott said collecting his award.

Gwendoline M.
Gwendoline M.

The unconventional fashion and lifestyle writer and activist.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

About Us

Glamsquad magazine is an independently operated online fashion, beauty, style, entertainment, and health blog. Its features are both inspirational and accessible, giving our followers a scoop on what’s trending now in the fashion, beauty, style, and entertainment industry.